Down by the Water

During this visit at the Des Moines Marina, I tried to focus on grabbing the right aperture. At this point, during this shoot I’m still working in Aperture Mode. I am fascinated that I am able to control the depth of field. Although I’m not fully understanding how to get the exact shot I want, or control the lighting. But I’m experimenting. And I feel okay, since maybe 2 out of every 5 shots is what I hoped for, which is a vast improvement from my first shoot. The way I see it, I’m headed in the right direction.

One thing I learned as it got darker, was how using the flash gave me a really cool effect that brought in the colors of the sky in a beautiful way. It also really put my subject in focus, lighting-wise. While it knocks out some of the colors in the middle, the contrast it creates is beautiful. I also did not edit any of these shots.

 

 

Leave a Reply

